Tomorrow belongs to the Doers

The Skills, the Assets, and the Jobs of Tomorrow

Kaya Olsen
8 min readJan 15, 2021
©Emile Guillemot (unsplash.com)

A year ago I moved to Vienna for a job opportunity. A startup with the mission to encourage young people to become changemakers and create a better tomorrow was searching for a new team member. A friend in my Facebook network had shared the job opening, and I instantly felt drawn. Although still studying at university and needing to write my Master’s thesis, I applied. The job just sounded too cool to pass. It didn’t even take me ten minutes to decide.

Now I have been with the startup for a year, doing all sorts of things in all sorts of fields, having little clue what the hell I’m doing. I studied languages thinking I’d become a high school teacher or a writer of educational books for high school students. Now I’m organizing events, doing content production, coordinating global organizers of our events, taking care of community management and partnership management, writing blog articles, producing videos, concept developing new programs, and giving workshops. I know how to teach German grammar, not how to build a global community of changemakers.

Sometimes I just pause for a moment to catch my breath. This first year in Vienna has challenged my ability to adapt, reinvent, be creative and resourceful — basically to take on the role of an entrepreneur. It feels…

--

--